Recipe #4 – Saucisson Sec

Saucisson Sec – French for dry sausage – is a traditional and very basic salami.  I chose this as my first Charcuterie sausage recipe for the simple reason that my starter culture has yet to arrive.  Therefore, I made the only dry sausage recipe in the book not requiring a starter culture.

Simple though it is, Saucisson Sec is delicious and one of the first recipes I wanted to make.  As you can see from the recipe below, the predominant flavor is garlic but my experience is that the garlic is not overpowering.  Rather, it compliments the peppery porkiness wonderfully.

Being the inexperienced blogger I am, I completely forgot to take pictures of the grinding mixing, and stuffing goings on.  To recap, I cut the pork and fatback into 1″ x 1″ cubes.  Then, I placed the cubed meat and fat in the freezer for 45 minutes to partially freeze it.  This makes the grinding process SO much easier.  Believe me, freezing the meat prior to grinding is essential if you’re using the KA attachment.  The first time I made fresh sausage using the grinder was a complete nightmare.  The soft fat and sinew of the pork shoulder completely jammed the grinder.  Partially freezing the meat nearly eliminates this setback.

Once ground, I mixed together the remaining ingredients in a bowl then dumped them in with the meat/fat mixture.  Charcuterie, like most recipe books detailing how to cure sausages, calls for the meat/fat/spices mixture to be mixed in the KA mixer for a couple minutes to develop that layer of sticky film essential to creating the correct texture in the finished salami.  This is where following the directions then using the KA stuffer attachment gets you into trouble.

Trying to force the sticky meat paste through the stuffer attachment can create uniformity problems which is why so many object to using the attachment.  However, my friend Chef Bob del Grosso gave me a great tip.  Mix together the meat/fat and spices by hand until fully incorporated.  Then you use the KA stuffer attachment to stuff into casings.  The corkscrew mechanism in the attachment mixes the meat and spices together much the like mixer would have, thus creating the meat paste texture you need.  I’ve tried this three times now and have no problems using the KA stuffer attachment.

Once stuffed and tied, the Saucisson Sec was read to hang.  I made sure to sanitize a needle and puncture small holes through the salami to encourage any air to escape:

The night prior, I mixed together some Bactoferm 600 with distilled water to allow for a 12 hour bloom.  I then took the mold mixture and sprayed it on the Saucisson Sec prior to hanging.  This will encourage a nice blanket of white mold to cover the surface.  The mold will help prevent bacteria, yeasts, and bad mold from forming.  Additionally, it has a positive effect on the drying process by preventing the emergence of dry rim.

Total dry time should be 15-20 days, or until total weight had been reduced by  30-35%.

Published in: on February 20, 2011 at 1:03 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://salumeria.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/recipe-4-saucisson-sec/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. save some for me!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

